• 3 Post By teesharky
  • 2 Post By Kizmet311
  • 1 Post By jbrown

Thread: Carrie Underwood can do it all

Carrie Guru
    Concert Stars

Carrie Underwood can do it all

Kevin Cuneo: Carrie Underwood can do it all - GoErie.com - Erie, PA

The singer I most looked forward to seeing at Monday's Grammys was not Adele, but the natural girl from Checotah, Okla. -- the one with the powerful pipes. The brilliant Adele is the Streisand of her generation, but Carrie Underwood is a uniquely American singer and personality. A high school cheerleader and basketball player, she was pretty enough and ambitious enough to enter and win a series of beauty pageants.

But Underwood, who sang at American Legion posts and local weddings, was enough of a realist to believe that her singing career probably wouldn't amount to much. She went on to Northeastern State University, where she graduated magna cum laude with a degree in mass communications.

"I studied journalism, which is how I came to have a take on you reporters," she cracked at the press before the release of her latest album, "Storyteller." At 22, Underwood took a shot at the big time -- "American Idol" -- thinking this would determine if she had a future as a vocalist. She ended up storming through the "Idol" competition like Sherman marching through Georgia.

Dolly Parton, an astute observer of the country and pop scene, once said that Underwood reminds her a bit of herself. "That girl can sing like nobody's business, and she's smart enough to make all the right moves. Carrie's a sweet girl, too. Real genuine," Parton told Time magazine in 2012.

Old friends in Nashville tell me that Underwood is a rare celebrity -- she's focused on her career and determined to take it as far as she possibly can, but she's down-to-earth and a genuinely nice person. "There's still a lot of Checotah in that gal," an old Music Row producer said.